Lemon Curd Layer Cake with Italian Buttercream

You would probably assume that we have a lemon obsession by the number of lemons in our kitchen. However none are bought nor even harvested from our property (we do have a small lemon tree however no fruit as of yet). They are all gifts from generous customers. We receive many shopping bags full of them and so the quest ensues on how to use them all in different ways.

One of our friends was having a birthday party and as i love to bake i practically begged to make the birthday cake. This particular friend is obsessed with lemon curd so i thought to myself, how can i make a cake that involves lemon curd AND is big enough for a party of people?

Lemon Curd Layer Cake with Italian Buttercream

Lemon Curd Layer Cake with Italian Buttercream

Lemon Pound Cake

Again i used the lemon pound cake recipe from the Insatiable Sisters. What can i say? It’s such a good recipe! I multiplied the recipe by four and divided it into three 20cm square tins.

Lemon Curd

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
1 cup cornflour
2 teaspoons grated lemon rind
3/4 cup lemon juice
1 and 1/2 cups water
60g butter, chopped
3 egg yolks

Method:
1. Combine the sugar, cornflour and lemon rind in a saucepan. Stir in the lemon juice and water until smooth
2. Stir over medium-high heat for 2 minutes, or until the mixture boils and becomes very thick. Add the butter and stir over the heat for 1 minute, or until the butter has melted
3. Remove from the heat, quickly add the egg yolks and whisk until combined. Remember that the curd will be very thick, as it has to stand up to the weight of the cake on top of it (It felt like i was trying to stir concrete!)

Italian Buttercream

I had heard of Italian Buttercream however i didn’t really know what it was. We had leftover egg whites from making the lemon curd so we thought we would give it a try. FAR OUT. This is the icing we have been searching for in our quest to make the perfect cupcake. We used this recipe.

Putting It Altogether

Method:
1. On your desired plate, place the first cake. Spread the lemon curd on top, about an inch thick. Don’t worry at this point about having it perfect
2. Place the second cake on top of the lemon curd layer and again spread the lemon curd on top, about an inch thick. Place the third cake on top
3. Using the excess lemon curd, smooth each side of the cake. It should look like this:

Lemon Curd Layer Cake

4. Spread the Italian Buttercream over the entire cake and decorate as desired

#Note: I apologise for the poor quality picture of the finished cake – i took it at the birthday party just before they put the candles on!

6 thoughts on “Lemon Curd Layer Cake with Italian Buttercream

  1. This looks really good! I’ve never made a layer cake. I might have to try this. Each december I think my public works department for all the crap…I mean stuff they do for me and my office. I usually buy them pizza but then I have to buy 7 extra large pizzas to feed 10 of them, so I decided to bake for them this year instead and have no idea what to make them. I wanted to get creative with my treats this year. I think this just made the list!

    Like

    • Thanks! It tasted pretty good.
      This was the first layer cake i have ever made. And it was an experiment so i was pretty proud. I just hope that when anyone e.g. yourself tries to replicate it that it works :s My Mum has requested it as her birthday cake so i hope that i too can replicate it! I’m sure it will be fine. Individually i have made the cake a few times and the lemon curd a million times (however not that thick) so that they should be fine. However I’m not great with icing – Kel is the whiz at that so i let him take control. When i made a caramel mudcake for his birthday, i obviously didn’t expect him to make the icing for it and you should have seen mine! I cooked it too long and when it hardened on the cake it was so hard you could barely saw through it with a sharp knife! I was thinking he was going to have to get his angle grinder out.
      Anyway I’m sure you will be fine making the cake, i just am a big worrywart.

      Like

Leave a Reply

