Herman The German Friendship Cake: Tasting Time!

If you’re new to my Herman journey, before you read on, see Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6, Day 7, Day 8, Day 9 and Day 10.

Here is Herman Loaf Tin today:

Herman The German Friendship Cake - Day 11 00As you can see, he’s had a slice cut off of him already (Kel)

I was actually really disappointed with Herman Loaf Tin. He scalded on the bottom and all around his sides. I think that maybe it happened because he was on the bottom oven shelf, being right over the flame (we have a gas oven) and for such a long period of time. Most of the cakes i bake don’t take as long to cook as Herman did.

Herman The German Friendship Cake - Day 11 01Fail. At least you can easily cut the black crust off

Anyway my two Lamington Tin Hermans seem okay so they are up for comparison!

Herman The German Friendship Cake - Day 11 02On the left is Herman without the optional brown sugar and melted butter and on the right is Herman with the optional brown sugar and melted butter

First up Herman without the optional brown sugar and melted butter:

Herman The German Friendship Cake - Day 11 03

My Verdict: Pretty much a dense, almost wholemeal tasting apple and cinnamon tea cake with raisins. Quite sweet. I couldn’t really taste the sourdough at all! Tasty though and great with a cup of tea (or some cream or ice cream)

And now for Herman with the optional brown sugar and melted butter:

Herman The German Friendship Cake - Day 11 04

My Verdict: Oh wow. The brown sugar and melted butter really add another dimension. YUM. It really brings all the flavours together and even though there is more sugar, the melted butter cuts through it and it isn’t as sickly sweet. It’s quite decadent however not extremely rich. You could probably polish off a whole cake quite easily!

So the winner is…definitely Herman with the optional brown sugar and melted butter. I think the answer was pretty obvious though. Melted butter makes everything more amazing. It was interesting to see how it made quite a difference though. The brown sugar and melted butter should be compulsory, not optional!

I have to say that even though Herman is quite tasty, i am disappointed that i couldn’t taste even a hint of sourdough. I suppose the point of the sourdough for this cake is really the fact that it is a “friendship cake” that you can pass around, rather than for the taste of sourdough. It has the wheels in my head turning…that maybe when i experiment with a grain free Herman, i might also experiment with cake recipe so the sourdough is a little more prominent…hmmm.

Anyway THANK YOU to everyone who shared this journey with me! I’m so glad you tagged along for it and were able to experience it together day by day. It was really great to see how people became quite attached to “Hermy” like i did. I admit i felt sad when i poured all those ingredients on top of him. And now I’m staring at the board where the two pieces of cake i just tried were sitting and all that is left are crumbs…Herman crumbs… *sob*

Here he is again on Day 1:

Herman The German Friendship Cake Day 1 - 00So small and fragile!

And here is on Day 9:

Herman The German Friendship Cake - Day 9 00Herman all grown up

What a difference!

Here endeth my Herman journey. Thanks again and stay tuned for Herman Goes Grain Free!

Also if you have any questions, please ask away πŸ™‚

#NOTE: I apologise for the quality of some of the pictures taken for my Herman journey. I’ve had to take most of the pictures when it’s been dark as I’ve been at work all day and it’s now getting dark at 5:30PM-6PM here.

10 thoughts on “Herman The German Friendship Cake: Tasting Time!

  1. Thank you for taking us on the journey with Herman. Have enjoyed waking up each morning and follow his short yummy life. I remember making a friendship cake way back in the 1980’s in NZ. So much fun watching each day as it grew. Brought back memories.. Thank you again.

    Like

    • Thank you for following his journey Pam! I am glad that it gave you some enjoyment and brought back memories πŸ™‚ I think it’s really cool that the concept of a friendship cake has been around for at least 30+ years!

      Like

  2. i agree I think the 2nd cake would taste better with the sugar. Thanks for posting the daily updates. There’s a recipe here that is similar to this and it’s called Friendship Bread with a variation of things. I haven’t found anyone with a starter for this in forever! ~Gina

    Like

Leave a Reply

