Recipe Recommendation: October

These are the recipes that I’ve tried from other bloggers/websites that I haven’t altered that we’ve really enjoyed for the month of October. It’s nice to recommend others plus it’s also encouraging to know the recipe didn’t just work for the person posting it but for others too (I’ve tried so many recipes that just simply haven’t worked).

Baked Scotch Eggs

img_4579

It was Kel’s birthday on October 2 and I wanted to give him a picnic style lunch. I’ve been wanting to try making my own Scotch eggs for ages now and I thought what better time to make them than for Kel’s birthday. I have a habit of trying out new recipes when you really shouldn’t – special occasions, when you have guests or when you’re the guests – however these turned out quite well. They aren’t super pretty to look at however they tasted good! Also I’m sure deep fried ones taste better however I liked that these were baked as it was a bit healthier.

Deliciously Crunchy Paleo Rhubarb Crisp

img_4658

I had a neighbour give me a big bunch of rhubarb and we were having lunch with some friends so I thought I would make this for dessert. It was delicious! Ethan adored it too and it was great that he was able to be part of dessert and we didn’t have to worry about it being full of sugar. Apart from halving the number of apples in the recipe, I also added some shredded coconut to the crumble. We ate it with Tilba Jersey Cream, which negates it being Paleo however I’m sure you could whip up some coconut cream and it would be an equally delicious accompaniment.

Vegan Tuscan Pumpkin Pasta Sauce

img_4741

This is another recipe from my many mentioned favourite, Detoxinista. It’s a fairly new recipe on her blog that I saw and liked the look of. We tried it last week one night for dinner and it was SO GOOD. I didn’t find it necessary to add the maple syrup as the pumpkin adds its own sweetness and we also had a light grating of cheese on top, which isn’t vegan of course. It was very nice paired with a glass of red!

img_4743

Tell me, do you have any delicious recipes that you’ve tried to recommend this month?

Leave a Reply

